/var/www/restricted/ssh/stm32/www/stm32circle/ STM CircleOS forum / mems noise ?

Username:     
Password:     

Forum

# 1   2007-10-30 14:10:25 mems noise ?

ThomasScherrer
Website

mems noise ?

Hi I tried your project,
in any of your screens the values jitter really much,
when I place the circle flat on table I should read 0 , 0 , 1000 ??
but I have jitter of 40-50 counts constantly, any idea what is wrong ?

Thomas Scherrer Denmark webx.dk

# 2   2007-10-30 19:40:50 mems noise ?

Francis
Administrator

Re: mems noise ?

<<I should read 0 , 0 , 1000 ??>>

Yes, with a table perfectlly horizontal, with a device perfectly soldered... 
I am not an expert in MEMS but it is hard to say what is the part of the ambient vibration, the part of the noise on the power supply, etc...

# 3   2007-11-02 20:12:11 mems noise ?

armaniake

I have seen that jitter also.

Looking at the schematic, it is likely that the DC/DC switcher is the culprit. PSU rails have to be very clean with high res. accelerometer. I have used before a MEMS from the same family powered by a DC/DC and it was horrible. When added an LC low pass filter at the MEMS location, the jitter felt down to a reasonable +/-3LSB (FS2g, 12bit).

At this stage, software filtering needs to be used to clean a bit the jitter (averaging). But I strongly recommend one implements an LC filter next time between the DC/DC and the MEMS, or use a linear to drop from 5V. Do not connect directly the PSU of the MEMS to the PSU of uC.

Practically, the jitter is not linked to how horizontal is the MEMS, and not likely linked to the soldering (it could be in theory). It is linked however to any vibration you impose on the Primer. But you should start to feel this vibration if you see a jitter of 40 LSB.

# 4   2007-11-09 02:50:20 mems noise ?

dalewheat
Website

I am seeing the same jitter from my MEMS outputs.